Sweaty Saturday

This morning, I was able to take my Thorminator for a walk.  He was soooooo excited because I didn’t take him yesterday due to my an odd, busy schedule.  

Morning Walk

We were out the door at about 6:45 a.m. and returned home around 7:20ish.  I couldn’t believe how many squirrels were out.  He couldn’t handle seeing all of them.  He pulled…A LOT.  I thought he was gonna drag me a few times.  Luckily, I was able to hold my ground.  Many times I screamed said “heel”, “leave it”, “let’s go”, “stop” and “Thor”.  Hoping I didn’t wake anyone up ;-)  He isn’t so bad walking, but if he sees a squirrel, he wants to chase after it.  Gotta keep working on that.

After our walk, I packed up my bags and headed off to the gym.  I only had about 45 minutes to work out so I made sure to hit it hard.  I started out rowing like I did last weekend.  Rowing for roughly ten minutes is a great way to warm up.  It’s quick and efficient.

Workout

After rowing, I did some squats, deadlifts, pull ups, back extensions, and oblique crunches on the back extension machine.  Heavy squats and deadlifts haven’t really been in my routine for awhile so I’ve been itching to do them.  The whole workout took me about 30 minutes with minimal rest in between each exercise.   Like I said, it was fast and efficient.  I was really sweaty at the end.

Tonight I am invited to a graduation party for a friend who just finished grad school.  Volleyball, barbecuing, and beer will be involved.  I need to run eight miles this weekend for my WhistleStop training, but that party is hard to pass up.  We’ll see if I run today or tomorrow! Haha.

Are you taking advantage of the nice weather and doing something outside before winter comes?  Do you weight lift? 

 

Leave a Reply

